Gained its independence in 1830 from the Netherlands. 3 communities: the Flemish Community (Dutch), the French Community (the Wallon people of French origin), and the German-speaking Community. 3 regions: Flanders, Brussels Capital, and Wallonia.

3 official languages: Dutch (Flemish), German, French.

The Flemish Benedictine monks invented beer.

Brussels: the seat of the EU, NATO.

  • Grand Place
  • Manneken Pis
  • Mini-Europe

Antwerp: world's diamond center.

  • Plantin-Moretus Museum
  • The Rubens House

Other cities:

  • Bruges
  • Ghent: Flemish water town.
  • Namur

The Netherlands


Day Excursions:

  • Alkmaar: cheese market, cheese museum, beer museum.
  • Enkhuizen: Zuiderzeemuseum (zuider=south, zee=see), Bottle Ship Museum (Flessenscheepjes Museum)
  • Haarlem: old town undamaged from the wars. Great Market (Grote Markt).
  • Hoorn


Transportation: Luxembourg Central Station.